top of page

How to Increase Instructor's Presence in eLearning

Updated: Apr 4, 2020


While there are differences between face to face learning and distance learning, the strategies instructors use to engage students will ultimately make or break for the students’ learning experiences. I can attest to my own learning journey when I transitioned from the corporate world to the academic field of work. I was blessed to have been mentored by Doug Mauger in the PIDP program at VCC. He knew when to push me to areas that I would never dare to experiment. At the same time, he knew when to pull back and watch how I performed in the online classes. It was quite amazing as his actions were so subtle, yet so impactful. Frankly, he knew me better than I knew myself. It was from that day that I realize that the instructor’s presence be it social, teaching and cognitive could have an everlasting impression on students. According to the Wiley survey, “48% link their positive experience to the quality of the faculty and positive descriptors” (Magda, 2020).


Below are some strategies on how to create that presence in an online setting:


Social presence Based on research, 904% millennials use social media who spent 3 ours per days on social networks and messaging (Vogels, 2019) They use social media effectively to communicate and socialize among themselves. To connect with students, faculties like myself who are afraid of social media may want to consider using such tools to reach out to students who may be struggling in classes. Email is an option. However, most of my students would gloss over emails I sent them in the past. I remembered one semester when I wrote to a student who was wrestling with the learning content in class. He greatly appreciated that I contacted him. However, he apologized that it took over a week to email me back as he hardly checked his emails. He then asked me whether I had a social media account. Sadly, I told him that I didn’t. In any case, it should have been a wake up call for me, but I didn’t. To date, I still do not have a social media account. As an introvert (or ambivert), I treasure my privacy a lot. However, I need to recognize that the culture of social interactions is changing. Therefore, I need to adapt and change so as to connect with my students.


Teaching presence This involves planning, designing and facilitating the course in order to provide students with relevant and meaningful learning outcomes. In all my classes, I have discovered that students’ eyes light up when I am able to connect real-world applications with the learning content. Also, 90% of students surveyed indicated faculty engagement including timely feedback reinforced their learning experiences (Magda, 2020). To remove unnecessary stress for students, the learning content should be consistent and well-structured with clear deliverables. The entire experience should be seamless, where contents, tools, and deliverables are error free. The last thing students want is to click on something and it doesn’t work. Or when there are conflicting deadlines for their assignments. Posting office hours online so that students know when they can be in contact with you.


Cognitive presence - When students have knowledge and control of their own thought processes, learning is enhanced according to constructivism theories. (UCDavis, 2020) In today’s competitive society, such skills are extremely vital. As information is easily available on the internet, organizations are looking for individuals with critical thinking skills and past experiences to help them navigate through challenging times. 82% of students indicated peer contributions to discussions provided them with different perspectives on the learning content. (Magda, 2020). Other than online discussion forums or breakout rooms in Zoom software, there are many software that helps student to sharpen their critical metacognitive skills. Given that Gen Xs and Ys love video games, there are many business gaming software available preparing students for job readiness as they will be required to make many complex decisions in the real world of business.


References

Magda, A. S. (2020, Feb). STUDENT PERSPECTIVESon Online Programs. Retrieved from WileyEdServices: https://edservices.wiley.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/202001-SSR-External-Report-WES.pdf

UCDavis. (2020, Mar 30). Types of Presence: Cognitive and Social Presence. Retrieved from https://canvas.ucdavis.edu/courses/34528/pages/types-of-presence-cognitive-and-social-presence

Vogels, E. A. (2019, Sept 9). Millennials stand out for their technology use, but older generations also embrace digital life. Retrieved from Pew Research Centre: https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2019/09/09/us-generations-technology-use/

9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page